The purpose of the Chancellor's Commission on the Status of Women is to enhance the status of all women at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, by advising the Chancellor on issues pertaining to gender equity and on specific concerns of women faculty, staff and students at the university.

The Commission works closely with the Chancellor's Commission on the Status of People of Color, the Chancellor's Commission on the Status of Gender and Sexual Identities, and other diversity initiatives to monitor campus climate and recommend improvements to create a more equitable environment.

The Commission is divided into three Councils.

Membership Information Email CCSW

Joann Ross
Joann Ross, Commission Chair


The Commission and each Council adhere to a policy of strict confidentiality. Conversations with the Chancellor are advisory and confidential. In addition, members of the university community should feel free to consult with members of the Commission and to express their opinions in confidence. The Commission shall not disclose to the Chancellor, or to others, any communication requested to be kept confidential by a member of the university community unless the content involves a topic that legally requires reporting.


Chancellor’s Awards

Since 1994, the Chancellor’s Commission on the Status of Women has presented the annual Chancellor's Outstanding Contribution to Women Awards. The awards recognize outstanding faculty, staff and student efforts to create a climate that encourages women to succeed at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Two awards are given, one for faculty or staff members and another for students or student organizations. The award recipients must demonstrate a sustained and tangible impact on the campus community.